pigelectric

WIP - Sound Effects Glove Project

pigelectric    173

I have decided to document my attempt at a sound effects glove, since certain other people that did it effectively have way better things to do in their life than post here. I do not mean that sarcastically - I'm serious, their lives are awesome and involve baby goats and archery and families and stuff. I don't have a cool life, so here we go. Hopefully this helps others and/or others can post here to help me!!!

1. The Parts

2. The Process

1. Follow the directions to load sounds onto the recording module (make sure they are mp3s, you can convert the wav to mp3). I couldn't get it to work on Windows 10 (which the maker says they do NOT support) but got it to work on Windows 7 after a few attempts. FYI I am an IT professional, and considered pretty darn technical. SO I was a little annoyed at what a pain this part was. But it's doable as long as you have the right OS and some patience. The four sounds I chose were new-tuskan-sentance02-tk0580, tuskan5, tuskan15b and tusken_raider.

2. Aker arrived but new gloves are TOO small. Jeez, I feel like Goldilocks here. 

3. To Do

-I want to enclose the circuit board in a casing, since uhm you know. Sweat. Yick. I have something that might work but if not, I'm keeping an eye out. Open for recommendations.

-Attach/mount/figure out best way to get touch sensors into finger-ish area. Might mount it to a bike glove that can be worn under the tusken glove.

QfxejNxm.jpg

• Like 3

Kayelbe    20

I've got one of these that I have been meaning to use for my daughter's Jawa, if I ever get around to it.  Might want to extend the wires for the buttons so that you can place your soundboard in a pouch or wherever away from your hand.  I've got some 3/8" corrugated loom that I plan to put the wiring in and run up her arm.  I'm thinking I'll sew up some velcro/elastic loops to keep it in place around her arm.

• Like 1

Kayelbe    20